Photography: King Tut Exhibit Pt.2

Did anyone else see that article talking about King tut’s golden mask being destroyed?? May sound dramatic, but that’s how it feels to me. I cannot even wrap around my head just how messed up this whole situation has come about. Not going through proper procedure to have this braided beard reattached… not only did they use an epoxy glue which you can clearly see by the gap that now exists between the beard and chin, but the scratched markings from trying to do who knows what! It crushes me that such a historical piece of art would be treated so carelessly by the museums own employees! I’ll link an article that can better word what has occurred because I know I’m way too bias on this topic to speak about it without getting angry.

http://www.history.com/news/beard-on-king-tuts-mask-snapped-off-glued-back-on

I honestly think there should be some sort of punishment. To who and what, I don't know.
I honestly think there should be some sort of punishment. To whom and what, I don’t know.

Anyways, I’ll continue with more images of the Exhibit now. Enjoy!

Bring on the Jewels
Bring on the Jewels
close up of scarab necklace
close up of scarab necklace
pectoral necklace with scarab
pectoral necklace with scarab

Falcon collar of Princess Neferuptah
Falcon collar of Princess Neferuptah
Alternate view of Psusennes I mask
Alternate view of Psusennes I mask
Gold Funerary mask of Psusennes I
Gold Funerary mask of Psusennes I
Close up of necklace piece
Close up of necklace piece
Necklace
Necklace
Some fancy goblet and pitcher
Some fancy goblet and pitcher
Gold Necklace
Gold Necklace
Inner Coffin of Queen Meritamun
Inner Coffin of Queen Meritamun
Inner Coffin of Queen Meritamun
Inner Coffin of Queen Meritamun

Just so I feel a little better about these images, I think I’ll blame the spotlights over the artifacts for the reason why my pictures aren’t as focused as they should be.

Fun Fact: Ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs have no vowels in their alphabet, so when your reading or writing their scripture there is a lot of freedom in terms of how hieroglyphs can sound phonetically because it’s a personal choice of which vowel one may feel comfortable using.

2 thoughts on “Photography: King Tut Exhibit Pt.2”

    1. Essentially they were more concerned about money and the possible drop of visitors they might experience during a longer repair time that would be required for such a priceless artifact. Total lack of respect. Agreed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

